You can purchase the 17-page unit for Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles NOW for immediate download for only $9.95! Jeopardy-Type Game included! Click Here.

each little bird that sings
by Deborah Wiles

Comfort is growing up in a funeral home that her family owns. With her dog, Dismay, she "lives to serve" helping those who are sad to feel better. With the inspiration of her Great-great-aunt Florentine, Comfort choses to remember those who have died with "Life Notices" that she writes instead of the the lifeless "Death Notices" that are posted in the Aurora County News.

To relax, she and Dismay often picnic on Listening Rock with Declaration Johnson, her best friend. From there, she can see the valley where Snowberger Funeral Home and town of Snapfinger, Mississippi, lie.

Comfort has seen more than her share of dead people and knows all about funeral food and funeral manners....but will that prepare her for a death in her own family? Will Comfort's experience with death enable her to stand strong when the second death occurs....and the third?

At a time when she so desperately needs her, will Declaration Johnson, be her faithful friend? When a catastrophe happens, how will Comfort find the strength to survive?

It is not likely that you will ever forget this story and the lessons that you will learn as you see life through the eyes of Comfort Snowberger.

Research Links for Each Little Bird That Sings

Deborah Wiles Home Page

Working Dogs

Funeral Dogs
Working Dogs
Canine Companions for Independence

A Life Notice

Earth Science Connections

Listening Rock Trail

Forever Friendship Music

Literary Connections

The Face in the Bessledorf Funeral Parlor Click to order

Kids Wings 5-Star Rating:

(Symbolizing high moral character in literature)
You can purchase the 17-page unit for Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles NOW for immediate download for only $9.95! With Jeopardy-Type Game included! Click Here

The Kids' Wings Activity Unit guides student study in exciting reading activities for an excellent easy novel set in the fictious Snapfinger, Mississippi.
Activities in the unit include:
A logic puzzle to introduce characters,
Anticipation guide,
Predict/confirm chapter questions,
Crossword puzzle,
Multiple choice chapter check-ups,
Using Resources to Check Facts,
Editing and Revising a Letter,
Be the Illustrator, Mapping the Story,
Describing the Character of the Story's Character,
Math Scaling the Map,
Writing Prompts,
and Answer Pages.

Interactive Jeopardy-Type Game included!

Our special thanks to Timeless Truths for the background music: "All Things Bright and Beautiful"


More Bluebonnet Books for 2006-2007 will be available in May, 2006

Each Little Bird That Sings by by Deborah Wiles NOW!

Other Interdisciplinary Learning Units for Grades 3-7 are now available in the new publication: 
Light in the Darkness,

Amazon Logo

Contact Us     Home    Bookstore     Integrated Curriculum      Build Character    

Order Kids' Wings Printed and Bound Collections Now on Sale 


Kids' Wings® has created outstanding activities for each novel, units which provide the latest in integrated curriculum.


Disclaimer: Texas Bluebonnet AwardSM is a service mark of the Texas Library Association, which is in no way affiliated with Kids' Wings or Suzy Red. Use of the Texas Bluebonnet Award mark in these materials does not imply any endorsement of any kind on behalf of the Texas Library Association. The Texas Bluebonnet Book Master ListSM was selected by the Texas Bluebonnet Award Committee of the Texas Library Association

Disclaimer: The links here have been scrutinized for their grade and age appropriateness; however, contents of links on the World Wide Web change continuously. It is advisable that teachers and parents review all links before allowing student use. Please contact us immediately if you find any inappropriate links.


©2009 Kids' Wings. All Rights Reserved.